Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    Dusty Springfield-'Faithfull' [LP-7/12/2024-Real Gone]

    Info from Real Gone Music:

    In 1971, Atlantic Records released a pair of Dusty Springfield singles produced by the legendary songwriter/producer Jeff Barry [one-time songwriting and romantic partner of Ellie Greenwich, and author of too many hits to name]: "Haunted"/"Nothing Is Forever" and "I Believe In You"/"Someone Who Cares." A restless Dusty, freshly relocating to America from her native England, then departed the label and left an additional 9 songs recorded with Barry in the can, where they stayed until Rhino issued one track, "Faithful" [in mono], as a bonus track on the 1990s CD release of Dusty's 1970 Atlantic album A Brand New Me. The other tracks didn’t surface until a subsequent deluxe reissue of Dusty’s landmark 1969 album Dusty in Memphis included them as bonus cuts.

    Then, reissue producer Jim Pierson—who tracked down the missing masters after being lost for over two decades —assembled Dusty’s Barry-produced masters and put them together in a single package for the first time to create the third Dusty Springfield Atlantic Records album as planned in 1971. Real Gone Music’s release of Faithful on LP presents these historic Barry-Springfield collaborations exactly as they were originally intended to be heard, with the 12 tracks meant for the album release out on vinyl over 50 years later. All tracks are in stereo, while the liner notes on the new gatefold spread, penned by The Second Disc's Joe Marchese, feature a number of rarely-seen photos of the legendary singer. These stunning pop, soul and gospel flavored selections showcase the iconic singer at the height of her vocal magic. A missing/jumbled part of Dusty’s august recorded legacy, finally set right and available in its intended format. Out on metallic gold and purple “royalty” vinyl as befitting The Queen of Blue-Eyed Soul…limited to 1500 copies!

    1. I'll Be Faithful
    2. Live Here With You
    3. Haunted
    4. Someone Who Cares
    5. Make It With You
    6. Love Shine Down
    7. I Believe In You
    8. Have A Good Life Baby
    9. Natchez Trace
    10. All The King's Horses
    11. You've Got A Friend
    12. I Found My Way Through The Darkness

    Dusty Springfield LP – Real Gone Music

  2. #2
    Thanks for the heads up on this, Motown Eddie. I have the CD version of this and also have these tracks split up on two different vinyl releases [the 2 LP release of 'Dusty in Memphis' by Run Out Groove and the 2 LP of 'See All Her Faces' by Universal]. However, I missed out on the vinyl version of this the first time around. I may have to get it.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts


Ralph Terrana

Welcome to Soulful Detroit! Kindly Consider Turning Off Your Ad BlockingX
Soulful Detroit is a free service that relies on revenue from ad display [regrettably] and donations. We notice that you are using an ad-blocking program that prevents us from earning revenue during your visit.
Ads are REMOVED for Members who donate to Soulful Detroit. [You must be logged in for ads to disappear]
And have Ads removed.