[REMOVE ADS]

Why But Used 78's / 45's in 1960

..... SORRY THE TITLE SHOULD READ ..... Why BUY Used 78's / 45's in 1960 .............
    I know that in the 70's, unsold stock & used 45's were being bought up to be recycled to make new records [[due to the oil crisis / vinyl shortage).
    BUT .... as far back as the late 50's / early 60's, US companies were placing ads saying they would buy up old used 78's / 45's. They weren't trying to attract answers from your everyday 'Joes' but were trying to buy in bulk from 'trade' people [[jukebox chains perhaps).
    What were they wanting these old used records for as to my knowledge no such stock ever turned up in big trade warehouses [[they bought unsold stock in bulk, not used items).
    I guess in the case of Sam Goody's [[see ad) which went on to become a big NY area discount retailer, they could have been selling such stock in their stores as cut-out type heavily discounted records but I have no actual knowledge that this is what they did way back then.
    Attachment 4715
    Last edited by jsmith; 04-04-2012 at 07:40 PM.

You should be able to fix the thread title yourself.

Name:  av-5.jpg
Views: 303
Size:  21.1 KB
    Sam Goody used to own record shops. So, I'd guess he wanted them for re-sale rather than melting down.

Quote Originally Posted by robb_k View Post
Views: 303
    Sam Goody used to own record shops. So, I'd guess he wanted them for re-sale rather than melting down.
    I remember Sam Goody's very well.

Robb, that's what I stated [["Sam Goody's which went on to become a big NY area discount retailer").
    ... So can anyone actually confirm that Sam Goody wanted used records [[ex jukebox, etc) to sell on to retail customers ?
    I'd have guessed there were more than enough cheap 'unused' singles about in trade warehouses for them to more easily source stock that way rather than by placing ads to find used [[thrashed) records !!!!!

Views: 227