[REMOVE ADS]

[[Gregory) Hines, Hines & Dad

Anyone know what sort of act this outfit [[that featured Gregory Hines in his younger days) performed ?
    Attachment 4593

If their LP was anything to go by, I guess it was MOR type stuff ......
    Attachment 4594

I remember them most from the Ed Sullivan Show and other TV Variety shows from the sixties, perhaps early seventies. They were more along the lines of Sammy Davis along with his uncle and Dad in that they did a lot of tap dancing and minimal singing as a part of their act. They were very good and kept my interest when they hit the stage.

Gregory Hines is the ONLY entertainer I ever had a crush on. It started when I was 12 years old and continued to the day he died.

His mom enrolled his older brother Maurice in a tap dancing class when he was around 5, younger brother Gregory wanted to learn too and soon he was also taking lessons. They started touring at a very young age along with their Dad [[a self taught drummer) and even performed in a Broadway play. The Girl in the Pink Tights, I believe it was called.

In the 70's, Gregory became disenchanted with Tap dancing and left the act. He moved to Venice, Ca and started a jazz, funk, rock band with money he borrowed from Bill Cosby. Eventually he moved back to New York and with the help of his older brother got a gig in a Broadway show, it was the first time he had danced in years. He went on to do several Broadway shows and eventually won a Tony for best actor in a Musical for Jelly's Last Jam.....that's just a small sample of this amazing tap dancers resume but he also did several films and tv shows as well. In the 80's he recorded a duet with Luther Vandross called, Nothing Better Than Love, it was a good song too.

His brother Maurice continues to tour and perform, their dad passed a way a few years ago.
    Last edited by ms_m; 03-10-2012 at 04:21 AM.

Ms M said: