[REMOVE ADS]

Thread: Genealogy

Genealogy

Anyone else have an interest in genealogy? I've been doing mine since March of 2005. My grandmother's first cousin who's a semi-retired nun did a lot of the research herself, and she sent the charts to see if my mother could help out. My mother wasn't interested, but I took the job and found a hobby I really loved.

Yes Koach.

I started to delve into the family history about eighteen months back .. a year or so after my dad died. My sister had started doing it, but was too busy doing other things to really spend much time on it. Back then I only knew the name of one of my great grandparents.

Without going into too much detail we had a few really big mysteries in the family, the biggest of which was what had happened to my father's Dad.

A decade or so back such investigations would have meant spending hours investigating old records in Libraries and churches, and looking around graveyards.

Now, a lot of the information is available on-line and I've been able to piece together our family tree and have made contact with a number of long lost distant [[ and in a couple of instances not very distant ) relatives. The family tree has expanded from about 40 close relatives almost 700,

Its turned into quite an obsession and nowadays I find myself poring through old census records, and info from electoral rolls, telephone books etc. And I've now got copies of birth marriage and death certificates of people I never knew existed a few months back. The only difficulty is knowing when to stop!!

Roger

yep! it's a fun hobby.I've also found a few distant cousins online. Got my dads side of the family back to the 1500's!

roger
    700?thats amazing![[stop now before the christmas card list gets out of hand) i havent bothered 'cos i just know i'd never stop looking,searching etc.but thats the only reason,i would love to do it.