[REMOVE ADS]

Who was "Little Nicky Soul" and his group?

Name:  av-5.jpg
Views: 1109
Size:  21.1 KB
    Anyone know who Little Nicky, M. Alexander and L. White are, or about Shee Records [[its owner and staff)? It was located at 563 E. Tremont Ave, Bronx, NY.

"I Wanted To Tell You" by Little Nicky Soul was released on Shee101. Sounds like about 1964 or 1965. But the song, itself, has 1962 style. I'm an expert on ZTSC Columbia Midwest [[Terre Haute/Chicago) pressing plant code #s, but not quite so good on ZTSP East Coast plant [[I think that's in Pennsylvania). Anyway, 94,000 seems to be about right for around late 1964. "I'm On The Outside Looking In" was pressed around that number [[somewhat before), as was "Look Away" by Garnet Mimms & Enchanters [[slightly after).

It's a great slightly uptempo group sound. The group behind him is very, very good. The lead can sing. You've gotta give him that. It's well-written, too. Richard Tee did a great job arranging it. He's my favourite New York '60s arranger. The lead guitar is great, but I'd have had the piano more upfront. The drummer's part is excellent -and excellently played-got to be Pretty Purdie.

It's a dead rare, Northern Soul favourite. I've never seen it, and I've looked through probably more than a few million 45s in my time. So, I can see why the price is where it is [[$1,100.00 US). I can't afford to buy it. But, I wouldn't mind having a digital recording of it). Right now anyone can listen to it on You-Tube. But I don't have the ability to downloaded it from the video.

Here's a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uz6KDz2Q-KA

I'm curious to hear what you all think of it.