Originally released in 1981 on the short-lived Boardwalk Records label, Tenderness finds a slimmed-down Ohio Players lineup featuring original members Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner, Marshall "Rock" Jones, Marvin "Merv" Pierce and Ralph "PeeWee" Middlebrooks [with a crucial assist from classic-era drummer James "Diamond" Williams] tackling a new decade. The band's 13th album proved to be unlucky on the charts but stands today as its last great organic work. Two Otis Redding covers first capture the attention, yet it's the depth of soulfulness in Bonner's own compositions and performances that make Tenderness a must-hear entry in the Ohio Players discography.

Includes a bonus track and a brand new 3000-word essay by A. Scott Galloway.

"Of all the albums I've ever made for mine, I think I like Tenderness the best. Because I got the chance to really write some good things. Even though it never did catch on selling I think one day it will... when people know what I wrote." - Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner

1. Try A Little Tenderness
2. Sometimes I Cry
3. Skinny
4. Try To Be A Man
5. Boardwalkin'
6. Call Me
7. Sitting On The Dock Of The Bay
8. It Takes A While
9. Hard To Love Your Brother
10. Just Me
Bonus Track:
11. Try A Little Tenderness [12" Version]