Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Rep Power

    The Sweet Inspirations: Let It Be Me [The Atlantic Recordings 1967-1970], 3CD 9/17/21

    From Soul Music Records/Cherry Red UK:
    Including the Top five RnB and Top 20 pop hit, ‘Sweet Inspiration’, written by famed southern soul writers Linden ‘Spooner’ Oldham and Dan Penn from their first album from 1967; 1968’s ‘What The Worlds Needs Now Is Love’ and the gospel homage ‘Cissy Drinkard And The Sweet Inspirations: Songs Of Faith And Inspiration’; 1969’s ‘Sweets For My Sweet’ recorded at Fame Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama [with the title track, a revival of The Drifters’ 1961 hit] and 1970’s ‘Sweet Sweet Soul,’ which includes ‘[Gotta Find] A Brand New Lover’ a US Top 30 RnB hit that featured lead vocals by Cissy Houston.

    The set also includes eight tracks with the line up including Ann Williams who replaced Cissy Houston; produced by Dave Crawford and Brad Shapiro, it was originally intended for release as an entire LP and has never been released in full until now.
    With stellar liner notes by renowned US writer/essayist Tim Dillinger including extensive quotes from Estelle Brown specifically for this re-issue, and produced by SoulMusic Records’ founder David Nathan, with mastering by Nick Robbins and artwork by Roger Williams.
    Track Listing:
    Blues Stay Away From Me
    1 Let It Be Me
    2 Why [Am I Treated So Bad]
    3 That’s How Strong My Love Is
    4 I Don’t Want To Go On Without You
    5 Knock On Wood
    6 When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
    7 I’ve Been Loving You Too Long
    8 Reach Out For Me
    9 Just Walk In My Shoes
    10 Do Right Woman-Do Right Man
    11 Here I Am [Take Me]
    12 Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream
    13 Blues Stay Away From Me
    14 I’m Blue
    15 Sweet Inspiration
    16 Don’t Fight It
    17 Oh! What A Fool I’ve Been
    18 Am I Ever Gonna See My Baby Again
    19 I Could Leave You Alone
    20 To Love Somebody
    21 Where Did It Go
    22 You Really Didn’t Mean It

    Unchained Melody
    1 Watch The One [Who Brings You The News]
    2 Unchained Melody
    3 Alfie
    4 What The World Needs Now Is Love
    5 Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday
    6 Crying In The Rain
    7 Chained
    8 Get A Little Order
    9 It’s Worth It All
    10 Let Me Be Lonely
    11 It’s Not Easy
    12 Sweets For My Sweet
    13 Don’t Go
    14 Always David
    15 But You Know I Love You
    16 [Gotta Find] A Brand New Lover, [Single Version] Part 1 and 2
    17 Shut-Up!!!
    18 Give My Love To Somebody
    19 Two Can Play The Game
    20 [Gotta Find] A Brand New Lover, Part 1 & 2
    21 Ain’t Nothin’ In The World
    22 Them Boys
    23 Flash In The Pan
    24 At Last I’ve Found A Love
    25 That’s The Way My Baby Is

    Light Sings
    1 I’ve Been Inspired To Love You
    2 Ain’t Nothing Gonna Change Me
    3 This World
    4 Light Sings
    5 Medley: Little Green Apples/Think/Something
    6 Make It Easy On Yourself
    7 Change Me Not
    8 Evidence
    9 Pilgrims Of Sorrow
    10 Down By The Riverside
    11 The 23rd Psalm
    12 Without A Doubt
    13 He’ll Fight
    14 Swing Low
    15 I Shall Know Him
    16 What A Friend We Have In Jesus
    17 Looking On The Bright Side
    18 Guide Me

    The Sweet Inspirations: Let It Be Me [The Atlantic Recordings 1967-1970], 3CD Box Set - Cherry Red Records

    Last edited by Motown Eddie; 07-15-2021 at 03:22 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Rep Power
    A long overdue and very welcome release. I think I finally have the first 4 LPs on CD. I held off on buying "Sweet Sweet Soul" because I think on CD it is paired with another LP which I bought elsewhere along the way. I recently bought the 2-fer "Faith and Inspiration" and "What the World Needs Now," because I assumed [[!) that the gospel LP would be unlikely to come out again on CD.

    But I'll buy this set to have all the albums together and because I've been very pleased by this label's releases in the past.

    Now we need another set of the non-Atlantic LPs, such as the excellent Stax LP, the more discofied RSO issue and the previously unreleased set that I believe came out on Record Store Day last year. That would be a real addition to the Sweets' catalog!

    Thanks for posting, Motown Eddie!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts


Ralph Terrana

Welcome to Soulful Detroit! Kindly Consider Turning Off Your Ad BlockingX
Soulful Detroit is a free service that relies on revenue from ad display [regrettably] and donations. We notice that you are using an ad-blocking program that prevents us from earning revenue during your visit.
Ads are REMOVED for Members who donate to Soulful Detroit. [You must be logged in for ads to disappear]
And have Ads removed.