Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    VA "Everybody Makes A Mistake: Stax Southern Soul Volume 2" [[Kent UK) - 4/9/2021

    Stax Records in Memphis was one of the centers of southern soul, yet due to its many hits and big city location, this often gets forgotten. We redressed that balance with the release of “Nobody Wins: Stax Southern Soul” but there was so much more to play that we’re back with 20 more tracks that capture the deep emotion and soulful feel of the Memphis behemoth.

    First up we have found a bunch of previously unreleased tracks. There are two by Eddie Floyd, including his own version of ‘Everybody Makes A Mistake’, first released by Otis Redding on “The Soul Album”; a stormer called ‘Standing In The Safety Zone’ by the Soul Children; and another cut by Chuck Brooks. We also have alternate takes of originally unreleased track by Ollie & the Nightingales and William Bell, and have gathered up rare tracks that appeared as bonus tracks on CDs by Jimmy Hughes, Mavis Staples, Shirley Brown, the Newcomers, David Porter and Veda Brown.

    Of those that saw release at the time, we have obscure B-sides by Eddie Giles, Israel Tolbert and Lee Sain. Singles from Randy Brown, Frederick Knight and the Nightingales are as good as anything the label released, and Isaac Hayes is present with his take on the Banks & Hampton single ‘I’m Gonna Have To Tell Her’, one of the great southern soul songs.

    Packaged with in-depth sleeve notes and extensive illustrations.

    1. I'll Do Anything For Your Love [[Single edit) - William Bell
    2. How Can I Win Your Love - Eddie Floyd
    3. I'm Gonna Have To Tell Her - Isaac Hayes
    4. A Smile Can't Hide A Broken Heart [[Alt mix) - Ollie & The Nightingales
    5. Let's Make A Deal - Frederick Knight
    6. Standing In The Safety Zone - The Soul Children
    7. Spare Me The Hurt Of Losing You [[Demo) - The Newcomers
    8. Guilty Of Loving You - Veda Brown
    9. We've Got Love On Our Side - Bettye Crutcher
    10. I'm Tired - Mavis Staples
    11. Got To Get Away From You - Israel Tolbert
    12. I'm Too Old To Play - Jimmy Hughes
    13. Everybody Makes A Mistake - Eddie Floyd
    14. Ain't Nobody Like My Baby - Lee Sain
    15. Just A Little Overcome - The Nightingales
    16. It Takes Me All Night - Eddie Giles
    17. You Need Love - Chuck Brooks
    18. Ain't No Way - Shirley Brown
    19. Did You Hear Yourself Part 1 - Randy Brown & Company
    20. Come Get From Me Parts 1 & 2 - David Porter

    Amazon USA

    Amazon UK
    Available for pre-order soon:

  2. #2
    Thanks for letting us know about this!

    The first volume of this series is also wonderful, and their 3-disc "Take Me To The River" southern soul set is one of my all-time favorite compilations, both for the music and for the liner notes and presentation:::


    Ace / Kent keeps knocking it out of the ballpark!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts


Ralph Terrana

Welcome to Soulful Detroit! Kindly Consider Turning Off Your Ad BlockingX
Soulful Detroit is a free service that relies on revenue from ad display [regrettably] and donations. We notice that you are using an ad-blocking program that prevents us from earning revenue during your visit.
Ads are REMOVED for Members who donate to Soulful Detroit. [You must be logged in for ads to disappear]
And have Ads removed.