[REMOVE ADS]

Photographer Harry Langdon discusses the stories behind his Diana Ross photographs.

Nice reflections from a great photographer!

As a keen photographer myself I found this really interesting. I really hope there is a part two.

He has a wonderful, down to earth approach to the way he talks about his photography work. One thing I learned [[and correct me if I am wrong): He mentioned Bob Ellis, who worked for Diana, was the one who introduced him to Diana. Let's see, the album was released in April, 1970 so this would have been prior to that. Although I knew Bob Ellis [[if this is the same one she married) was in some sort of public relations work, I never realized that Bob actually worked for Diana.

Quote Originally Posted by jobucats View Post
    He has a wonderful, down to earth approach to the way he talks about his photography work. One thing I learned [[and correct me if I am wrong): He mentioned Bob Ellis, who worked for Diana, was the one who introduced him to Diana. Let's see, the album was released in April, 1970 so this would have been prior to that. Although I knew Bob Ellis [[if this is the same one she married) was in some sort of public relations work, I never realized that Bob actually worked for Diana.
    I also never realised Bob was an employee!!.

I had to play it back to make sure that's what he said... "I found out later on Bob was her publicist". Oh, by the way, I wrote a comment on his YouTube video, and he responded. It appears that he might just be getting started with his YouTube channel and quite naturally, is welcoming subscribers.

This was interesting insight into the publicity photo process with Diana. I definitely enjoy Harry's work. Thanks for posting the video.
    Darin

Yes, a great find! Langdon is a great fashion / portrait photographer and he sure had one legendary subject in Diana!