Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Ben E. King "Stand By Me" 2CD compilation (BMG-UK) (1/10/2020)

    1. What A Difference A Day Made
    2. Dream Lover
    3. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow
    4. Save The Last Dance For Me
    5. Moon River
    6. I (Who Have Nothing)
    7. Quizas, Quizas, Quizas (Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps)
    8. Young Boy Blues
    9. Don't Play That Song (You Lied)
    10. Tell Daddy (Single Version)
    11. Too Bad
    12. This Magic Moment - The Drifters
    13. Souvenir Of Mexico
    14. First Taste Of Love

    1. Stand By Me
    2. Spanish Harlem
    3. Supernatural Thing, Pt. 1
    4. You're Lovin' Ain't Good Enough
    5. Groovin'
    6. Street Tough
    7. Tower Of Strength
    8. Seven Letters
    9. Show Me The Way
    10. Sway
    11. Because Of You
    12. I'm Standing By
    13. Goodnight My Love
    14. How Often


  2. #2
    Only 14 songs per disk? Seems kind of cheap IMHO. Likely they could have fit all 28 tracks on one CD.

    Real Gone did a Ben E. King singles set which was also 2-CDs. They dubbed it The Complete Singles, Vol. 1, but their 2 disk set includes almost twice as many tracks as this one.


    Here's their track list. The set retails at $39.98, but still seems like a great buy.

    Disc One
    1. Brace Yourself
    2. Show Me the Way
    3. A Help-Each-Other Romance (LaVern Baker & Ben E. King)
    4. How Often (LaVern Baker & Ben E. King)
    5. Spanish Harlem
    6. First Taste of Love
    7. Stand by Me
    8. On the Horizon
    9. Amor
    10. Souvenir of Mexico
    11. Young Boy Blues
    12. Here Comes the Night
    13. Ecstasy
    14. Yes
    15. Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)
    16. Hermit of Misty Mountain
    17. Too Bad
    18. My Heart Cries for You
    19. I’m Standing By
    20. Walking in the Footsteps of a Fool
    21. Tell Daddy
    22. Auf Weidersehn, My Dear
    23. How Can I Forget
    24. Gloria, Gloria
    25. I (Who Have Nothing)
    26. The Beginning of Time
    27. I Could Have Danced All Night
    28. Gypsy
    Disc Two
    1. What Now My Love
    2. Groovin’
    3. That’s When It Hurts
    4. Around the Corner
    5. What Can a Man Do
    6. Si Senor
    7. It’s All Over
    8. Let the Water Run Down
    9. Seven Letters
    10. River of Tears
    11. The Record (Baby I Love You)
    12. The Way You Shake It
    13. She’s Gone Again
    14. Not Now (I’ll Tell You When)
    15. Cry No More
    16. (There’s) No Place to Hide
    17. Goodnight My Love
    18. I Can’t Break the News to Myself
    19. So Much Love
    20. Don’t Drive Me Away
    21. I Swear by the Stars Above
    22. Get in a Hurry

  3. #3
    Regarding this, the Drifters and Sam Cooke, the best news in my opinion is that somebody will still be releasing CDs in 2020. Let's hang on to them as long as we can!!!

  4. #4
    Will we ever get volume 2 of his Atlantic singles?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Optimal Saint View Post
    Will we ever get volume 2 of his Atlantic singles?

    They don't say anything about Vol. 2 on the Real Gone site. King must have released quite a bit of recordings, if even a 3rd disk is necessary to make it "complete." I like the way we get the B-sides on these releases, like with the Motown 50th Anniversary sets. The B-sides figured prominently in many ways. I remember it was always a nice surprise when you liked a B-side and often they were quite good.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts


Ralph Terrana

Welcome to Soulful Detroit! Kindly Consider Turning Off Your Ad BlockingX
Soulful Detroit is a free service that relies on revenue from ad display [regrettably] and donations. We notice that you are using an ad-blocking program that prevents us from earning revenue during your visit.
Ads are REMOVED for Members who donate to Soulful Detroit. [You must be logged in for ads to disappear]
And have Ads removed.