[REMOVE ADS]

Question Supremes song version questions

so, I have a subscription to Apple Music streaming, and it's allowed me to access what I think is 98% of the Supremes full catalog [[with certain selections out of print or not owning the rights to the music by Apple). While I am familiar with the general fare and the more popular versions of tracks, I've come across a few different versions listed as the "Alternate mix," "Jukebox," along with "Version 1"and "Version 2."

What separates an "alternate mix" from a "remix?" Is an alternate mix just the same master mixed differently to showcase different instruments [[similar to the differences between the "single version" and album version of "Up The Ladder To The Roof)?

Then things get stickier with my lack of understanding when it comes to the culture of jukebox [[which I'm too young to have experienced); Does "Baby Love [[Jukebox)" mean its time is abbreviated or edited for public settings? What makes a track carrying the label in parenthesizes "Jukebox" instead of the regular single?

Lastly, I'm sure this one may be less unfamiliar, but what's the actual audible differences between tracks like "I Want A Guy [[Version 1)" and version 2? I've compared them and they almost seem identical. Are there other examples of songs having different versions in the Supremes catalog?

I have general knowledge of how a "Single Version" differentiates, and I am familiar with the concept of a remix, but I haven't come across these terms before.

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by loganjlr; 01-29-2018 at 01:17 AM. Reason: The Supremes, Diana Ross & The Supremes, versions, Jukebox, alternate mixes

Great question.

Absolutely true that some differences are far more obvious than others - but I'll leave this to those who have better knowledge [[particularly with regard to tracks by The Supremes).