Today 11:11 AM

Motown Unreleased 1968

Does anyone have information about MOTOWN UNRELEASED 1968?

We are already at the end of October and the end of the year is near.
Today 12:17 PM

Gladys Knight And The Pips "On And On: The Buddah/Columbia Anthology" 2019-02-15

SoulMusic Records is very proud to present “On & On: The Buddah/Columbia Anthology,” a hit-filled 2-CD by the iconic Gladys Knight & The Pips, whose international appeal spanned over three decades from the mid-60s to the mid-80s.

This 37-track collection of recordings by the legendary family group (Gladys, brother Merald ‘Bubba’ Knight and cousins William Guest and Edward Patten) focuses on a particularly successful period of their consistent presence as mainstay global hitmakers from 1973-1985.

Initially achieving US acclaim in the early ‘60s with ‘Every Beat Of My Heart’ and ‘Letter Full Of Tears’, the group’s dynamic stage act (with nifty choreography and distinctive harmonies) resulted in a 1966 contract with Motown Records and while some key hits provided a great platform for international exposure, by the early-’70s, Gladys & The Pips were ready to experience a new level of mainstream recognition.

Disc One of this anthology chronicles the group’s five-year run of non-stop hits for Buddah Records, including the timeless ‘Midnight Train To Georgia’, ‘Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me’ and a live medley of ‘The Way We Were’ and ‘Try To Remember’. Drawn from eight Buddah albums that included production by Curtis Mayfield, Tony Camillo and Van McCoy among others, “The Buddah Years” features over a dozen charted singles and an alternate mix of ‘Make Yours A Happy Home’ from the Claudine soundtrack.

Disc Two chronicles the group’s five years with Columbia Records during which they initially reunited with Nick Ashford & Valerie Simpson (with whom they had worked at Motown), resulting in further hits such as ‘Landlord’ and ‘Taste Of Bitter Love’. Further success came with ‘Save The Overtime (For Me)’, ‘You’re Number One (In My Book)’ and an early version of the pop classic ‘Wind Beneath My Wings’.

A first-of-its-kind comprehensive collection drawn from both Buddah and Columbia albums by the group, it includes all (22) US charted hits released over a twelve-year span.

Liner notes by renowned US writer Kevin Goins include quotes from former Buddah executive Cecil Holmes, songwriter Jim Weatherley, arranger/musician Ray Chew and producer / songwriter Charles Kipps; with remastering by Nick Robbins and artwork by Roger Williams.

[CD1: The Makings Of You – The Buddah Years (1973-1978)]
1. The Way We Were / Try To Remember
2. Midnight Train To Georgia
3. I’ve Got To Use My Imagination
4. Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me
5. Where Peaceful Waters Flow
6. Onandon
7. To Be Invisible
8. The Makings Of You
9. Make Yours A Happy Home (Alternate Mix)
10. I Feel A Song (In My Heart)
11. Love Finds It’s Own Way
12. The Need To Be
13. Part Time Love
14. So Sad The Song
15. Everybody’s Got To Find A Way
16. Little Bit Of Love
17. Baby Don’t Change Your Mind
18. Walk Softly
19. Come Back And Finish What You Started
20. It’s A Better Than Good Time

[CD2: We Need Hearts – The Columbia Years (1980-1985)]
1. Landlord
2. Taste Of Bitter Love
3. Still Such A Thing
4. Get The Love
5. Additup
6. Bourgie’, Bourgie’
7. We Need Hearts
8. I Will Fight
9. A Friend Of Mine
10. Reach High
11. When You’re Far Away
12. Save The Overtime (For Me)
13. You’re Number One (In My Book)
14. Seconds
15. You’ve Got My Word On That
16. Kiss Away The Pain
17. Hero (aka Wind Beneath My Wings)
Today 10:49 AM

Grande Ballroom, Detroit - Question

I just read several articles about the Grande Ballroom being placed on the historic register of buildings. This was located on Grande River Avenue.

I am wondering if any Motown artists ever performed there? I do not recall ever reading about any of them singing there.

If they haven't, I wonder why? Maybe Marv2 can offer some insight.

Today 07:02 AM

Regina Belle "Show Me The Way: The Columbia Anthology" 2CD set [2019-02-15]

SoulMusic Records is proud to present “Show Me The Way: The Columbia Anthology,” a 29-track 2-CD retrospective drawn from the four albums recorded by award-winning songstress Regina Belle between 1987-1995.

New Jersey-born Regina’s innate musical talents were evident from her formative years singing in her uncle’s church through to her skills as a multi-instrumentalist in high school and then at the prestigious Manhattan School Of Music where she studied opera. At Rutgers University in the early ‘80s, Regina formed her own band, at the same time creating a distinctive vocal style that drew from musical influences in jazz (iBillie Holiday) and soul (Donny Hathaway) among others.

Renowned New York radio personality Vaughn Harper saw one of Regina’s shows at Rutgers and recommended her to hitmaking vocal group The Manhattans and in 1986, Regina recorded ‘Where Did We Go Wrong’, as a duet with the group (with whom she had begun performing) and in the wake of its success, she signed with Columbia Records.

This anthology features the original album versions of (10) of Regina’s US charted singles (including the Belle classics, ‘So Many Tears’, ‘Show Me The Way’, ‘This Is Love’, ‘If I Could’ and her two #1 US R&B hits, ‘Baby Come To Me’ and ‘Make It Like It Was’ and the UK/European-only charted single ‘Good Lovin’’; as well as duets with James ‘J.T.’ Taylor (‘All I Want Is Forever’), Johnny Mathis (‘Better Together’) and Peabo Bryson (‘I Can’t Imagine’); and a 1987 ‘Cool Mix’ of ‘So Many Tears’.
Prime tracks from Regina’s 1987 “All By Myself” debut LP, her two certified gold albums – 1989’s “Stay With Me” and 1993’s “Passion” – and her final Columbia set, 1995’s “Reachin’ Back” selected for this anthology showcase Regina’s vocal prowess and dexterity as a stellar lyrical interpreter on a diversity of material.
Liner notes by renowned US writer Kevin Goins include quotes from producers Nick Martinelli, Narada Michael Walden and Barry Eastmond among others.
[CD1: So Many Tears]
1. You Got The Love (Remix)
2. Gotta Give It Up
3. Good Lovin’
4. How Could You Do It To Me (Remix)
5. Show Me The Way
6. Please Be Mine
7. After The Love Has Lost Its Shine
8. Baby Come To Me
9. Intimate Relations
10. This Is Love
11. All I Want Is Forever – James “J.T.” Taylor & Regina Belle
12. Make It Like It Was
13. It Doesn’t Hurt Anymore
14. What Goes Around
15. So Many Tears

[CD2: Dream In Colour]
1. Do You Wanna Get Serious
2. Interlude/Passion
3. Quiet Time
4. Love
5. Someday We’ll All Be Free/Save The Children
6. If I Could
7. Dream In Color
8. Better Together – with Johnny Mathis
9. Could It Be I’m Falling In Love
10. Love T.K.O.
11. I’ll Be Around
12. You Make Me Feel Brand New
13. I Can’t Imagine – Peabo Bryson (feat. Regina Belle)
14. So Many Tears (Cool Mix)
Yesterday 04:10 PM

Four Tops Christmas album

I recently purchased the Four Tops "Christmas Here With You" with some trepidation as I hadn't realised that the Tops had recorded a Christmas album. Got to say I am pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the production, the great harmonies and of course the sublime lead vocals of Levi Stubbs. One or two quirky tracks but on the whole this is an excellent album.
The album was released in 1995 so was this the last studio album recorded by the original four members for Motown or any other label.


Ralph Terrana

Welcome to Soulful Detroit! Kindly Consider Turning Off Your Ad BlockingX
Soulful Detroit is a free service that relies on revenue from ad display [regrettably] and donations. We notice that you are using an ad-blocking program that prevents us from earning revenue during your visit.
Ads are REMOVED for Members who donate to Soulful Detroit. [You must be logged in for ads to disappear]
And have Ads removed.