Today 03:42 AM

Johnny Mathis "Light Up My Life/That's What Friends/Best Days/Magic" 2CD 5/21/2021

Four Columbia albums from 1978 and 1979. 'You Light Up My Life' was a Top Ten album in the US and UK, with the single 'Too Much, Too Little, Too Late' a No.1 in the States and a Top 3 hit in the UK Singles chart. Mathis has had a long and distinguished career, winning and earning every award along the way. Johnny Mathis is still very active, with a forthcoming '65 Years Of Romance' US Tour starting in April and a new duet with Freda Payne released in December. Digitally remastered and slipcased, and with extensive new notes by Charles Waring.

You Light Up My Life:
1. You Light Up My Life
2. Emotion
3. All I Ever Need
4. Where Or When
5. If You Believe
6. Too Much, Too Little, Too Late
7. How Deep Is Your Love
8. Till Love Touches Your Life
9. I Wrote A Symphony On My Guitar
10. It Was Almost Like A Song
That's What Friends Are For [With Deniece Williams]:
11. You're All I Need To Get By
12. Until You Come Back To Me [That's What I'm Gonna Do]
13. You're A Special Part Of My Life
14. Ready Or Not
15. Me For You, You For Me
16. Your Precious Love
17. Just The Way You Are
18. That's What Friends Are For
19. I Just Can't Get Over You
20. Touching Me With Love
Bonus Tracks:
21. Comme Ci Comme Ca
22. Without Us
23. So Deep In Love

The Best Days Of My Life:
1. Would You Like To Spend The Night With Me
2. As Time Goes By
3. The Best Days Of My Life
4. Gone, Gone, Gone
5. The Bottom Line
6. The Last Time I Felt Like This
7. Begin The Beguine
8. How Can I Make It On My Own
9. There You Are
10. We're In Love
Bonus Track:
11. I Never Said I Love You
Mathis Magic:
12. No One But The One You Love
13. Night And Day
14. Love
15. My Body Keeps Changing My Mind
16. New York State Of Mind
17. She Believes In Me
18. That Old Black Magic
19. You Saved My Life
20. To The Ends Of The Earth
21. Heart, Soul, Body And Mind

Amazon USA
Available for pre-order soon:

Amazon UK

Today 04:56 AM

Hattie Littles

Apologies if this has been discussed before, but I am astounded by the quality of MU62: Girls, especially the Hattie Littles cuts.

Anyone know why she didn't get more singles released during her motown [[gordy) tenure?

IMO enough material for a decent album, and better than some similar releases of the period....
Today 02:45 AM

Broadway shows return to nyc in september

Some of the shows that were forced to shut down last year did not survive and will not return. But the Tina Turner Musical and the Temptations musical are scheduled to re-open in September and the new Michael Jackson musical is also set to start previews in September.

Are we finally getting back to normal ? :)
03-02-2021 09:44 AM

Songs with dances in the title

Mickey's Monkey
Twistin' Postman
Come On Do the Jerk
Can You Jerk Like Me?

All of the above songs were original compositions released on various Motown labels, and all contain the names of dances.

I know there are more. Can you name more songs released by Motown that contain the names of dances that are NOT covers?
Yesterday 08:12 PM

Smokey sings Smokey

Did Smokey ever record covers of songs he wrote for others?

Or even original demos

Is there a Smokey/miracles version of My Girl, First I look at the purse, You beat me to the punch, the way you do the things you do, Ainít that peculiar or any of the others?
Today 02:13 AM

Paul Stanley's Soul Station - Now And Then [[2021)

KISS co-founder & frontman, best-selling author and Rock & Roll Hall of Famer PAUL STANLEY has spent the last few years developing a project close to his heart. Soul Station is a band gathering some of today’s leading musicians to pay tribute to the greatest artists and songs from the R&B and soul catalogue to keep this vital music current. While a surprise to many, Stanley’s early pivotal roots in this music has quietly turned this passion into a celebrated touring and recording band. Stanley’s 15-piece ensemble group has toured the U.S. and Japan, and recently recorded an album of nine classic soul songs and five new original songs.
Famous rock stars paying homage to a genre that inspired them is nothing new, though more often than not, these vanity projects manifest themselves in the form of well-meant but heavy-handed Americana "roots" collaborations or the inevitable jazz standards record. As the frontman for Kiss, Paul Stanley has made a lasting impact on rock & roll, marshalling one of the industry's most die-hard fan bases, the Kiss Army, well into its fifth decade of obsession. While Stanley-penned classics like "Lick It Up" and "Hotter Than Hell" are far from subtle, his voice has always been a particularly nuanced instrument with more range than Kiss' music usually allowed. Before donning the face paint and frightening generations of parents as the Starchild, Stanley was just another 1960s New York teenager listening to Otis Redding, Philly soul, and Motown hits on the radio. On Now and Then, his first release fronting Paul Stanley's Soul Station, he honors that particular era of R&B and soul, offering up vivid renditions of much-loved classics as well as five originals written in the same vein. Unmasked and guitarless in front of a nimble 15-piece band, his takes on evergreen hits like Smokey Robinson's "The Tracks of My Tears" and the Five Stairsteps' "O-o-h Child" are decidedly faithful, coming across as affectionate tributes rather than self-serving showpieces. Wielding his warm falsetto with ease, Stanley gamely tackles the Temptations' enduringly sweet "Just My Imagination [[Running Away with Me)," sounding nothing like the hard rock god of "Love Gun" or "Detroit Rock City" fame. Dappled with horns, strings, backing singers, and a robust rhythm section, Soul Station's arrangements are elegant and lively, pumping up the energy when needed without going over the top. A record like this could have easily gone south, but Stanley's love for these songs is quite apparent, making Now and Then a surprisingly pleasing listen. ~ Timothy Monger, All Music
Track List:

01. Could It Be I’m Falling in Love [4:02]
02. I Do [3:12]
03. I, Oh I [3:18]
04. Ooo Baby Baby [3:08]
05. O-O-H Child [3:43]
06. Save Me [[From You) [3:32]
07. Just My Imagination [[Running Away With Me) [3:56]
08. Whenever You’re Ready [[I’m Here) [3:05]
09. The Tracks of My Tears [3:04]
10. Let’s Stay Together [3:49]
11. La-La – Means I Love You [4:01]
12. Lorelei [3:10]
13. You Are Everything [3:48]
14. Baby I Need Your Loving [3:05]


Ralph Terrana

Welcome to Soulful Detroit! Kindly Consider Turning Off Your Ad BlockingX
Soulful Detroit is a free service that relies on revenue from ad display [regrettably] and donations. We notice that you are using an ad-blocking program that prevents us from earning revenue during your visit.
Ads are REMOVED for Members who donate to Soulful Detroit. [You must be logged in for ads to disappear]
And have Ads removed.