PDA

View Full Version : Soap Talk

test

misty
02-04-2013, 10:55 PM
My name is Michele Val Jean and I've been a soap writer for 20+ years. I started off in nighttime with 2 episodes of Jake & The Fatman, but I always loved daytime [[grandma watched, mother watched, you know the drill) and that was my ultimate goal.

At that time I was the assistant to the Exec Producer/Head Writer on Jake so I used the connections I had to get an agent, and my first staff job on Generations. When that got cancelled, I moved to Santa Barbara. When THAT got cancelled, I moved to General Hospital, where I stayed for 19 years. My biggest claim to fame there was I became the first and only black head writer in the history of daytime - that still stands - but my tenure got caught up in a regime change and unfortunately [[or fortunately, it's a LOT of work) it didn't last long.

I left GH last year and am currently writing scripts for Bold & Beautiful - a very different show from anything I've ever done before, but I absolutely love it.

I'm starting this thread in case there are any soap fans with questions about the writing process, or characters you love or hate, or what it takes to produce 5 hours of television a week, or anything I can answer without giving stuff away. Always keeping in mind, this old memory isn't what it used to be!

ralpht
02-04-2013, 11:50 PM
Kind of like a workshop, Misty. Cool.

StuBass1
02-05-2013, 12:04 AM
Hi Misty...Wondering if you know a buddy of mine...John Homa? He's a top notch acting coach for soaps and I believe that General Hospital is one of the shows he's worked on.

gary_james
02-05-2013, 12:09 AM
That's cool Misty! I haven't watched Soaps since I watched Another World with my Mom in the 70s when i was off from school for the Summer. But, I did see Jack Wagner is returning to General Hospital.

misty
02-05-2013, 12:32 AM