PDA

View Full Version : What Tammi might have done

test

rovereab
09-23-2010, 07:29 PM
With all the excellent recent news about Tammi it has got me thinking about what direction she might have followed had she not died.

I could foresee further collaboration with Marvin but as a solo artist I would envisage that Motown would have not allowed her to stray into Diana territory and possibly taken her towards a more hard hitting sound.

I know that this is all speculation given her untimely death but I can imagine that her vocal versatility may have resulted in her recording songs in the Teena Marie "spectrum" as well as her softer style.

Perhaps she would have left Motown too - anybody know when her contract was going to expire?

What do you think?

Eamonn

positivesoul
09-23-2010, 11:35 PM
I think that Tammi's upward curve would not have remained on a steady slope. Instead, due to her drive, talent, showbiz connections, etc., her slope would have shot even higher... virtually 90 degrees straight into the stratosphere. Diana was so established that she would have been ok... just would've had to share the Motown spotlight more. The two would probably have developed a mutually respectful comraderie -at least publicly and possibly from their hearts. Tammi was becoming very powerful and had so much going for her that I don't think BG would've wanted to find himself on the outside looking in once her contract expired, likely in '72.

Let's not forget that when the J5 left Motown, they had already peaked so I doubt BG could acurately foresee what was slipping away in the form of the future mega-star MJ. Tammi was hugely in demand with the public, even to the point that promoters really didn't want the long-established MG without her. Tammi was smart enough to try to keep the peace, while using her talent and charm to get what she wanted professionally. Yet she was strong enough to use the power she was amassing to her advantage.