PDA

View Full Version : Interesting insight by NILE ROGERS re: DIANA album

test

ivyfield
03-08-2012, 08:31 AM
I've edited and posted this to Yt: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJl90UMsF3c Nile seems like a really nice guy..!

soulster
03-08-2012, 10:49 AM
Until the deluxe edition came out, I never, ever imagined any kind of gay connection with that song. I just liked it because it had a funky groove, and, as a drummer, I love that opening drum part. I never even knew Ross was a gay community icon until this forum!

Oh yeah, the famous DJ Nile was talking about is Frankie Crocker. I don't know of too many people who ever liked him. Even Cameo took a dig at him in their song "Don't Be So Cool".

bankhousedave
03-08-2012, 10:51 AM
That's a great clip, Ivy. Yeah Nile is great.

Motown4Ever518
03-08-2012, 07:15 PM
Until the deluxe edition came out, I never, ever imagined any kind of gay connection with that song. I just liked it because it had a funky groove, and, as a drummer, I love that opening drum part. I never even knew Ross was a gay community icon until this forum!

Oh yeah, the famous DJ Nile was talking about is Frankie Crocker. I don't know of too many people who ever liked him. Even Cameo took a dig at him in their song "Don't Be So Cool".

As a drummer I had a "What The For Goodness Sakes", moment when I first heard the intro of "I'm Coming Out". I read Niles book, a very good book,as well as Chic and The Politics of Disco, also a very good book, and have played the Diana Deluxe Edition to compare the Chic Mix and Motown Mix, and as much as I love Chic, the Motown Mix is what should have "come out", pun fully intended.

nomis
03-08-2012, 08:45 PM