PDA

View Full Version : Never leave your babys side

test

Calv1971
11-18-2011, 05:57 PM
Hello-although being a Motown fan for many years this is my first time posting a thread on Motown Forum.
"Never leave your babys side" by Martha and the Vandellas is my all time favourite song and was wondering if other Motown fans share my opinion that the versions that have appeared on CD are still not the exact wonderful version as what is on the b-side of vinyl copies of "My baby loves me", there just seems to me that CD versions are missing that something that to me make this song so FAB.
If this topic has been brought up on a previous occasion, then l apologise, as mentioned before l am new.

BayouMotownMan
11-18-2011, 07:50 PM
The actual released version on vinyl, which is dynamic, has never been issued on CD. Only a watered down mix that first appeared on the LIVE WIRE set has been issued digitally

midnight johnny
11-18-2011, 08:51 PM
Calv...actually, on the Complete Motown Singles Vol. 6, there is a version that is mixed differently from the Live Wire version, but still not instrumentally as complete as the 45 rpm mix. Strangely the tamborine is promenant and they brought the strings out. You might be able to hear a clip here....

http://www.kazaa.com/#!/Various-Artists/The-Complete-Motown-Singles,-Vol.-6:-1966

soulster
11-18-2011, 10:52 PM
Ah shoot! The vocals are too loud on TCMSC.

nabob
11-19-2011, 02:09 AM
"Never leave your babys side" by Martha and the Vandellas is my all time favourite song and was wondering if other Motown fans share my opinion that the versions that have appeared on CD are still not the exact wonderful version as what is on the b-side of vinyl copies of "My baby loves me", there just seems to me that CD versions are missing that something that to me make this song so FAB.Welcome to the Forum. Yeah Buddy! I loved this one too. Their 1965 and 1966 work with Ivy Hunter & Mickey Stevenson holds its own with the more popular H-D-H big hits.