PDA

View Full Version : The decline of America's top 40 and hits radio

test

smark21
07-17-2011, 12:01 PM
From today's NY Times:

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/17/magazine/the-swan-song-of-the-top-40.html?ref=magazine&pagewanted=print

Doug-Morgan
07-17-2011, 08:03 PM
It was all us hippies fault. We were the first ones to truely fractionalize pop radio.

marv2
07-17-2011, 11:21 PM
Great article! It pretty much confirms what I had been saying for several years now. hehehehehe.....

soulster
07-17-2011, 11:38 PM
That article was less about the charts and radio, and more about nostalgia.

Doug-Morgan nailed it: the desire to hear more "serious" rock music in the late 60s pretty much began the decline of top-40 radio, although it kept strong until the mid-70s, when automated programming came into fashion, and disco threatened rockers.

sunshineonacloudyday
07-17-2011, 11:48 PM
Thank you smark21. I didn't even know there was still a Top 40, lol.

In the sixties, my brother sat at his desk EVERY Wednesday night, pen and notebook in hand, to write down the Top 10 songs as the deejay played the countdown to "Number One."

When the national Top 40 began, it was characterized by drawing "popular" songs from a variety of still distinctive genres and unique regional sounds. I think it lost its significance with the gradual homogenization of popular music beginning in the mid 70s. Then video [[MTV, etc.) came along in the 80s leaving it pretty much irrelevant.

jobeterob
07-18-2011, 01:25 AM
I agree with all of you and the article; it's sad, but it's gone. Now there are two dozen charts and you can top some of the charts hardly selling anything.

LOL, the decline really began with the Disco Club Play Charts in the late 70's. It was the Kiss of Death to be #1 on that chart ~ then you disappeared into oblivion the next year.

chidrummer
07-19-2011, 12:25 PM