PDA

View Full Version : Joel Whitburn Ranking of Artists

test

edafan
03-13-2014, 07:52 PM
I have been using his books for many years.

I originally bought
Top Pop 1955 - 1972

Then I bought the yearly supplements

Later I purchased Top Pop Singles 1955 - 2002
to aid in my collecting of songs

He has a way of ranking artists, which I usually agree with

Here is the top 10
1. Elvis Presley
2. The Beatles
3. Elton John
4. Madonna
5. Stevie Wonder
6. James Brown
7. Michael Jackson
8. The Rolling Stones
9. Janet Jackson
10. Aretha Franklin

I agree with all of the names except one.
I guess my age is showing,
but I really didn't believe that
Janet Jackson had that big of an
impact upon the music scene.

Maybe someone can enlighten me.

edafan

smark21
03-13-2014, 08:26 PM
Isn't he with Billboard? If so, then the criteria for the list is based on sales and chart positions. And Janet Jackson had some huge selling albums and a number of top ten songs.

edafan
03-13-2014, 09:14 PM
Yes, he says he uses Billboard

edafan

Ngroove
03-13-2014, 11:43 PM
My real question, why is MJ NO.7???? Elton John outranks him?????

soulster
03-14-2014, 03:18 AM
My real question, why is MJ NO.7???? Elton John outranks him????? You can't argue with record sales and radio airplay. Personal preference does not enter into it. face it: Elton John has sold more records, tapes, and CDs than Michael Jackson, and Janet Jackson was HUGE in the 80s and 90s.

Ngroove
03-14-2014, 09:59 AM
You can't argue with record sales and radio airplay. Personal preference does not enter into it. face it: Elton John has sold more records, tapes, and CDs than Michael Jackson, and Janet Jackson was HUGE in the 80s and 90s.
Just thought MJ was bigger; the self-proclaimed "King of Pop"; not gonna argue Janet though, as she was consistent from mid 80s through early 00s.

Ngroove
03-14-2014, 10:04 AM