PDA

View Full Version : Live or lipsynch? Gladys Horton and Martha Reeves

test

smark21
01-19-2014, 02:05 PM
I recently watched these clips from the mid 00s of Gladys Horton and Martha Reeves performing on some TV show. To me it sounds like they're miming to a pre-recorded track from the 60s. What do you all think?

Here's Gladys:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDmUVAp0aVQ

smark21
01-19-2014, 02:06 PM
And here's Martha Reeves:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMHYvpB20Wc

phil
01-19-2014, 03:08 PM
To me it's pure evidence that music and vocals are live.

supremester
01-19-2014, 03:25 PM
Well they both LOOK live, but I don't think they are. I don't recall Martha sounding that way in the new millennium, but both sound great on this show. I'm voting lip sync but I'm not an expert on Gladys. They sound to me like live tracks from the 70's or 80's.

westgrandboulevard
01-19-2014, 03:40 PM
My opinion, smark21, for what it's worth, is that my ears tell me I would agree with you.

I think it may have previously been denied, but I'd have to say that both Gladys and Martha's vocals are those from their original '60s recordings, which have then been tweaked for the performance.

I would say Gladys and Martha performed the songs for the camera [[possibly not actually to the audience ?) with a live microphone, and I'd say that Martha at least did not mime to a pre-recorded track. I'd also say that Gladys's vocal recorded for the show was later almost totally replaced with the vocal from the original recording. It's possible that the producers just may also have used some or all of the basic rhythm track and background vocals from the original recording of 'Please Mr Postman' to augment the accompaniment we hear , but it could well be that the instrumentation we are hearing is indeed what that audience heard.