[REMOVE ADS]

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

"Nightflight" Tue Dec 2, 9P-12M ET: Gladys Knight & the Pips Tribute!

Howdy there, "Nightflight" listeners! I've been doing this show for 15 years, and strangely [[or not) I have never done a tribute to Gladys Knight, her brother Merald "Bubba" Knight, and her cousins William Guest and the late Edward Patten....Gladys Knight and the Pips! Well...tonight I will rectify that negligence by giving them a 3 hour spotlight. I could rave about Gladys' amazing voice, the Pips heavenly harmonies, and an over half a century long career...but you know all that. I've got some special things to share with you, too, and the music tonight will cover Motown and more!! And though I can't promise...I'll do my best to play your requests. So join me tonight for a "Pip" of a show with Gladys and her family...on "Nightflight...on WOMR 92.1 FM Provincetown and WFMR 91.3 FM Orleans and streaming live worldwide in digital stereo at www.womr.org Thanks! See you on the radio! John

I'll never understand why a track as good as "If You Ever Get Your Hands On Love " wasn't released at the time, or how "Take Me In Your Arms And Love Me" got to #13 in the UK, but only reached #98 in the USA.

John, I posted this comment on Facebook, but for those on this site, maybe someone has an answer. Gladys Knight & The Pips's 1967 single, "Everybody Needs Love," had a Marvin Gaye composition "Stepping Closer To Your Heart" as the flip side. The recording didn't appear on the group's first Soul label Album, but I just noticed that the Complete Motown Singles 1967 edition didn't include this recording either. Does anyone know Why? It's a moody kind of song, and I quite like it. It finally appeared on a British twofer CD, "Everybody Needs Love/ Feelin' Bluesy. If you can find a source, it would be very cool to hear it on your Gladys Knight & The Pips radio program this evening.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Desjardines View Post