[REMOVE ADS]

When you're the only white person in the room

Man! I hope this thread is OK, but I just found it. It is quite interesting. No harm intended. So, Ralph, don't ban me, please?

http://www.cnn.com/2014/09/11/us/whi...html?hpt=hp_c2

Great post Soulster.

Wasn't this what this song was all about?

Roger

If God has shoulders, I bet he shrugs them when it comes to race. Consider that there are so many different blood types that we all share. If we were truly different, would a Black man's blood be compatible with an Asian, Native American, or Caucasian? We're more alike than different, but choose to find reasons to hate each other.

It's interesting to note that, until the African slave trade, the world didn't think in terms of skin color. It was all about tribes, be they in the European or Asian regions, or in Africa. Segregation of skin color is only a fairly recent concept of the last hundred years.

When I graduated from college [[Undergraduate), I was the ONLY African American male graduating out of 1400 graduates that day..............

There were several times in my my life where I was a minority of one or two out of many.

Soulster, this was a fantastic article.

My first girlfriend in my eighth grade year was black [[I am white). I had never given serious thought to our racial differences until her mother pressured her to break off the relationship. At first, I was quite offended, but after a few years, I began to understand the origins of these feelings, on both sides of the picture.