[REMOVE ADS]

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Motown Unreleased 1963???

Here's an interesting article I found whilst searching to find any news of a possible repeat of last year's 1962 mp3 releases:

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/12/ar...1bUkZoIcKU8iAQ

It also perhaps goes some way to explaining the thing I found so weird about last years' releases; how they just seemed to 'slip' out without any fanfare or prior announcements. I guess we'll know in the next couple of weeks if there'll be a 1963 series...

RossHolloway Guest
    I sent HW an email a few weeks ago asking if there would be a 1963 collection of unreleased material but sadly he never responded...

Speaking of HW, has ANYONE any knowledge if he is still with Universal? It is surprising that nothing but nothing has come forth to my knowledge from him.

Thanks for posting the New York Times article Jacques. It'll be interesting to see if any Motown 1963 material becomes available.

I'm not an expert on the law, but I'm not sure that the writer has all the details correct, including the point that material could fall out of copyright that quickly if not used. Here's an extract from the official EU Directive:

`Use-it-or-lose-it`
    If, 50 years after its publication, the producer of a sound recording is not making the recording available for sale, both physically and online, in sufficient quantity, a performer who has assigned his or her rights in the recording to the producer may give written notice to the producer that he or she wishes to reclaim their performers` rights in the recording. If, after one year from the date of the notice, the producer has failed to make the recording
    available for sale, both physically and online, the performer`s rights will revert to the performer and the producer`s copyright in the recording will expire.